All Class Reunion, Chicken Days, July 8th, 2023

The Wayne Community Schools Foundation is hosting an All Class Reunion over Chicken Days weekend.  Activities include:

  • School Tours (Friday, July 8th)
    • School tours will be by appointment only – call the high school at 375-3150 to schedule your tour today!
  • All Class Reunion Social
    • Informal social for ALL Wayne High Alumni on Saturday, July 8th at 6:00 p.m. at the City Auditorium
    • Appetizers and cash bar will be available during the social
  • SOS Dance
    • Following the social, the Sons of Satan are scheduled to play.  This open to the public.

If your class has interest in participating in the weekend events, please contact Rusty Parker at [email protected]

13th Annual Alumni Basketball and Volleyball Tournament Scheduled for Easter Weekend

As the balls continue to the bounce in the gym and the whistles continue to sound, so does the call for teams for the 13th Annual Alumni Volleyball and Basketball Tournament.  On Friday, April 7th and Saturday, April 8th the Wayne-area gymnasiums will be buzzing with Blue Devil Alumni who will take part in friendly basketball and volleyball competitions.  Last year we hosted over 150 alumni throughout the tournaments.  Though some games can become quite competitive for the Alumni Tournament Championship title, the weekend is a great time for our alumni to reconnect with old friends, some new friends, and the Wayne Community.  Last year’s winners were in the Basketball Blue Division the Class of 2011, Basketball Black Division the Class of 2008/2013, and Volleyball the Class of 2000-2008.

Basketball games will be played at the Wayne Elementary School, Wayne High School, and the Community Activity Center.  Volleyball games will be played at the Community Activity Center.  Proceeds from the tournament will go to the Wayne Community Schools Foundation.    We invite you to come up and watch the Blue Devil Alumni prove they still have what it takes to compete!  If you have interest in helping to sponsor the event or sponsoring a team, please feel free to contact  Rusty Parker at [email protected]  Thank you for your support of the Wayne Community Schools Foundation.

Last year’s winners: Volleyball the Class of 20003-2008, Basketball Blue Division the Class of 2011, and Basketball Black Division the Class of 2008/13.

Wayne County Farm Bureau Presents Wayne FFA with a $4,500 Donation

Wayne County Farm Bureau coordinated the Future of Ag Banquet last fall for the community of Wayne.  Proceeds from the event were designated to the Wayne FFA Chapter to help with travel costs, membership fees, conference fees, and much more.  Thank you Wayne County Farm Bureau for your support!

Class of 1947 Bench Dedication

With 70 years difference between graduating classes, the Class of 1947 and the Class of 2017 designated their class funds to the Wayne Community Schools Foundation to add beautiful updates to the front of the Jr./Sr. High School building.  The Class of 1947 donated two, concrete benches surrounding the flagpole to honor their classmates.  The Class of 2017 wanted to include their mark as well.  The recent graduates designated their class funds for landscaping to add to the beauty of the benches and building.

During the Class of 1947’s reunion on Friday, August 18th, Wayne Community Schools Foundation hosted a ribbon cutting ceremony to present the benches.  It was a gorgeous, warm, and sunny day to honor the alumni of ’47.


Class of 1947

Ribbon cutting


Wayne Community Schools Foundation Receives a $2,000 grant for Drone Technology

Grant provided by Farm Credit Services of America Working Here Fund for Agriculture Education

 NORFOLK, NEBRASKA – Wayne Community Schools Foundation received a $2,000 grant for drone technology and utilization.  The grant is provided through Farm Credit Services of America’s (FCSAmerica) Working Here Fund.

Wayne Community Schools Foundation will purchase a drone and complete training classes with grant funds.  Instruction including the rules, regulations, and proper etiquette when using technology devices such as drones will be part of the training. The photos taken by the drone will be utilized in the classroom for students to compare different ecological areas of northeast Nebraska.  Students will learn about technology innovation and management,

“Students graduating high school and entering the work force or college now are required to have more experience and knowledge of technology than ever before,” said Lindsay McLaughlin, executive director of the Wayne Community Schools Foundation.  “By having a drone in the classroom, students can gain more experience with technology and learn how it works, how it is best used, and expand the possibilities of using this technology with experiments that they may create.”

“At FCSAmerica, many of us grew up in agriculture and continue to farm.   We know first-hand the value of agriculture education and are proud to partner with Wayne Community Schools Foundation to ensure future generations have the same opportunities for learning,” said Zach Gansebom, vice president of retail operations at FCSAmerica’s Norfolk office.

The drone, operated by teachers and students and following proper etiquette, will seek approval from landowners, when taking photos of the area.

Wayne Community Schools Foundation is one of 77 organizations to receive a Working Here Fund grant in the first quarter of 2017. FCSAmerica awarded $111,965 during the latest grant cycle ending March 31, 2016.

DuPont Pioneer Grant and Koenig Enterprises Gifts Help Fund Ag Education and FFA Programs at Wayne Community Schools

The Wayne Community Schools Foundation received a $1000 DuPont Pioneer Grant to help fund the upcoming FFA Chapter that will be implemented during the 2017-2018 academic year.  Along with the $1000 grant, Koenig Enterprises (Teri and Kevin Koenig) matched the grant and designated the gift to the Ag Ed Program that begins in the fall of 2017.  We are very thankful for the support from DuPont Pioneer and Koenig Enterprises in the development of these programs.

WCS Foundation Focuses on Students

Ever wonder what your donations and gifts to the Wayne Community Schools Foundation are used for?  Wayne Daily News did an article on the WCS Foundation which gives a “behind-the-scenes” glance as to the use of your wonderful gifts.